Neapolitan drama

lostThe Story of the Lost Child by Elena Ferrante is the concluding chapter of Ellena Ferrante’s series about two young women making their way in Naples rough slums.  The girls, perceptive and intelligent,   try to create lives for themselves within a violent and stultifying culture.  The first in the series, My Brilliant Friend (2012), arrived in the library this October following a number of requests from our readers.  They quickly made their way through it and the next two chapters, The Story of a New Name (2013) and Those Who Leave and Those Who Stay (2014).  “Lost Child” finds the two friends confronting age and the meaning of their lives. The Neapolitan quartet is “utterly distinctive.  They are “ingeniously plotted and rooted in time and place,”  yet “utterly visceral and immediate (NYT).”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s