Fiction update

castle   Just in:  The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck. In this novel, widows and children of resistance leaders in the failed plot to kill Hitler have taken refuge within the walls of one of the survivor’s Bavarian castle.  If this sounds like a Gothic variant on the summer vacation house plot, be prepared to adjust expectations.  Her “characters represent the range of responses to fascism” and the “unfolding plot surprises and devastates” (New York Times).  This is a read-alike for fans of Lilac Girls, The Nightingale and The Postmistress.  The Roanoke Girls by Amy Engels, on the other hand is pure Gothic. In this “provocative thriller (The Telegraph),” Lane Roanoke returns to the Kansas home she fled as a sixteen year-old when her cousin Allegra mysteriously disappears.

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s